United Nations - Fun Facts

Hello! Thanks for visiting and please enjoy the free info below! 

Just fyi, you can find me over at www.dorisfullgrabe.com from now on, where I'm making custom lettering and calligraphy. 

This archive will be discontinued next month. 

Building model
Building model

The UN headquarters in New York are international territory with their own fire department, police force, and postal office. The Rose Garden (currently under construction) grows flowers from every country. The tall building is the Secretariat, the lower building on the left with the dome on top is where the General Assembly meets.

The United Nations has six principle branches:

  1. General Assembly
  2. Security Council
  3. Economic and Social Council
  4. Secretariat
  5. International Court of Justice
  6. Trusteeship Council
photo 5
photo 5
photo 4
photo 4

 General Assembly

  • It's the UN's main representative organ
  • 193 member states represented
  • all have one equal vote
  • They are not the world government and most of their treaties are not legally binding.
  • They come together to discuss current events and challenges in the spirit of voluntary collaboration for world peace.
  • The General Assembly Hall is about to undergo construction for the next three years. Assembly will be held at a smaller building close to the current headquarters. It will not be able to seat all delegates from all countries anymore.
Interpreters booths
Interpreters booths

Official Languages

Arabic, English, French, Mandarin, Russian, and Spanish.

For an interesting movie about UN interpreters, check out The Interpreter.


Every year, the Secretary General of the UN draws the lucky country who will sit in the front left seat for one year. Other countries will be seated alphabetically. This year, Jamaica has the front seat, followed by Jordan, Korea, etc and Italy is up in the back right-hand corner.

Security Council
Security Council

Security Council

  • The Security Council consists of 15 member States.
  • Five constant members are the WWII allies: China, France, Russia, UK, and US.
  • Ten more member nations rotate every two years.
  • For any resolution to pass, there has to be a minimum of nine “yes” votes including all five allied countries.
  • When a resolution passes, it is legally binding for all nations inside the Security Council.
  • Presidency inside the Security Council rotates every month.
  • May 2013 is Togo, June will be the UK, and July the US.
  • If resolutions are not followed, the first course of action is always a dialogue. Conversation and discussion is followed by fact-finding missions, eventually sanctions, and military action as a last resort.